93% of MPs participate in the election for vice president.

Almost 93% polling was reported in the vice presidential election . More than 50 MPs denied their vote .

NEW DELHI: On Saturday, almost 93% polling was reported in the vice presidential, with more than 50 MPs denying their vote.Officials said that of the total 780 MPs voted till 5 p.m. when the polling concluded, 725 MPs voted.Officials said Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his predecessor Manmohan Singh cast their ballots early in the day, while opposition leaders Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi voted a little after noon.The Trinamool Congress, which has 39 members, including 23 in Lok Sabha, has already declared its intention to withdraw from the election.

On Saturday, voting for India's next Vice President began at 10 a.m., with Prime Minister Modi one of the first to vote.Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh arrived in a wheelchair and needed assistance to stand up and vote.John Brittas, a CPM member, was one of those who supported the veteran leader in executing his franchise.With folded hands, the two-term former prime minister met those present.

Abhishek Singhvi, a congressman who contracted Covid-19, wore a PPE kit to the polls.I was gratified to serve as a third term parliamentarian in the #VP elections, even in extraterrestrial attire, he tweeted.Though two BJP MPs, Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre, did not vote, Mulayam Singh Yadav and Shafiqur Rahman Barq (both Samajwadi Party) were among the prominent opposition MPs who were absent during the vote.Dhankhar has a clear advantage over his opponent, with the ruling BJP gaining an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha and 91 in the Rajya Sabha.

The vice presidential election will be open to all members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, including those nominated members.The two Houses of Parliament have a sanctioned population of 788 MPs, of whom eight are in the Upper House.