Aspirants form a line to purchase BJD tickets for four RS seats.

Non-politicians, newcomers, and many non-politicians are keen on BJD tickets for the four Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha . The BJDs dominance of all four RS seats is a foregone conclusion considering the assemblys strength .

Bhubaneswar, India: Young leaders close to the roost, newcomers, and many non-politicians are keen on BJD tickets for the four Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha, which will be held next month.According to reports, the non-politicians included an industrialist, a philanthropist, and a retired bureaucrat.On June 10, BJD members N Bhaskar Rao, Prasanna Acharya, and Sasmit Patra will be elected to three seats that will be vacant after their tenures are completed.On June 13, the fourth seat that fell vacant after BJD member Subhash Chandra Singh stepped down as mayor of Cuttack Municipal Corporation, will run.

In the 146-member assembly, there are currently 113 MLAs (one of whom has died).Insiders at the BJD believe that the party has already begun the process of zeroing in on candidates for all four seats, though the names will be revealed in May last week.The names are being finalized based on the importance of the representation of different areas and the 2024 general and assembly elections.We are confident that our party president, Naveen Patnaik, will select whoever will serve as the Rajya Sabha's chief minister.

Though the party is in favour of renominating Patra for a second term, tribal leader Pradeep Majhi, who recently resigned to the BJD by quitting the Congress, is likely to be nominated for the Rajya Sabha.According to party insiders, an industrialist who has made significant investments in Odisha is also campaigning for a BJD ticket.Some BJD veterans, including Prasanna Patsani and Ramesh Chandra Chyau Patnaik, who were previously assured by the chief minister of Rajya Sabha berths, are also hoping to run for office in the upper House this time.