Atmakur by-election voting was peaceful, with a 70% turnout.

By-election in Atmakur assembly constituency went smoothly . Around 11.5 percent voter participation reported by 9 a.m.

AMARAVATI (Amarvat): On Thursday, the by-election in Atmakur assembly constituency went smoothly.Before 6 p.m., about 70% of respondents were surveyed.Despite the fact that it is much lower than the polling rate of 82 during the 2019 election, it is still a fairly high turnout, considering that there is no close contest in the by-election.Around 11.5 percent voter participation was reported by 9 a.m. on Sunday, as people were eager to exercise their vote.

As of 5 p.m., the polling turnout slowly picked up steam.Around 62 percent of polling had been reported.Around 10 percent more people registered to vote per two hours.In the end, the polling was relatively easy.

EVMs were housed in secure and secure rooms at Andhra Engineering College, he said.Following the death of MLA Mekapati Gautham Reddy, who was a minister in the Jagan cabinet, a by-election was necessary.Gautham Reddy's brother, Vikram Reddy, was selected as the candidate for the Mekapati family's bastion by the ruling party.The by-election contested by the relative of a deceased sitting legislator turned out to be one-sided, with the main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Janasena avoiding the contest, citing the fact that they would not field candidates in the by-election.

Rajamohan Reddy, a former MP and Vikrams father, district minister Kakani Govardhan Reddy, and senior leaders Balineni Srinivasa Reddy, and irrigation minister Ambati Rambabu stayed in the constituency and ran a party.Bharath Kumar, the leader of backward classes, was sent by the BJP to compete with Vikram Reddy.A coup was waged by senior BJP officials, including national general secretary D Purandeswari, secretary Satya Kumar, ex minister Kanna Lakshminarayana, BJP state president Somu Veerraju, and union minister L Murugan.Up to 14 contenders are in the fray.