Gokulam Kerala becomes the first team in I-League history to defend their title.

Gokulam Kerala FC becomes first I-League team to defend its title . No club in the I-League era has defended its title .

Kerala FC made history by becoming the first I-League team to defend its title with a 2-1 victory over Mohammedan Sporting on Sunday.Gokulam Kerala, the defending champions, came ahead with their 49th minute strike to stun the partisan crowd of over 35,000 at the Salt Lake Stadium.The home team was soon celebrating as they found the equalizer in the 56th minute when Marcus Joseph's spectacular free kick deflected off Azharuddin Mallick and crashed into the net.The Malabarians restored the lead in the 61st minute when Emil Benny came into the final third after receiving a pass from Majcen and finding the back of the opposition net with no defenders in sight.

East Bengal, a Kolkata club, won the National Football League, the I-League's predecessor, in 2002-03 and 2003-04 seasons, winning their first I-League title, with local heavyweights Mohammedan Sporting hopeful of battling the in-form team from Kerala, especially with a strong crowd in support.Despite their tenacity, the determined Malabarians kept their place in contention and deservingly won the league for the second season in a row.But Gokulam Kerala showed a lot of character and determination to prevail over a home team that was undefeated in the five matches played in the playoffs.Gokulam Kerala FC were playing possession football as a draw was enough for them, while Mohammedan SC were too quick and looked to attack, but went too far in the 25th minute.

Zothanmawia came too far to defend in the 42nd minute, but Gokulams Jourdaine Fletcher could not use the MDSC custodian's error.