Great bowling by the Lankans limits India to 138/6 in the India vs. SLW match.

Sri Lanka bowlers restricted India to 1386 in their 20 overs in first T20I match . India lost two wickets in four overs, with captain Harmanpreet Kaur and captain Shafali Verma taking lead .

Dambulla, Sri Lanka, June 23: Sri Lankan bowlers controlled the proceedings in the first T20I against India, restricting India to 1386 in their 20 overs here at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla, on Thursday.Indian batters struggled to defend the Lankan bowling attack properly, with only Shafali Verma, captain Harmanpreet Kaur, and Jemimah Rodrigues holding the ball.Lankan bowlers were great, but they did not allow partnerships to flourish for long.India started off a poor start, losing opener Smriti Mandhana (1) and Sabbhineni Meghana (0) in two consecutive balls of pacer Oshadi Ranasinghes fourth over.

After both dismissals, India was in the hands of opener Shafali Verma and captain Harmanpreet Kaur to rebuild the country.India stood at 322 at the end of six overs, with Harmanpreet Kaur (10*) and Shafali Verma (18*) taking the lead.Shafali looked good at it, breaking four boundaries.After being caught by Nilakshi de Silva at long-on, she was dismissed by the captain Athapaththu for 31 off 31 balls.

Captain Kaur was dismissed leg before wicket for 22 by spinner Inoka Ranaweera, sinking India to 584.The wicketkeeper-batter had to rebuild after Rodrigues and Richa Ghosh left.However, the 23-run stand came to a halt when Ranaweera was dismissed for 11 runs with help from Anushka Sanjeewani's safe hands.With this result, half of the Indian team was back in the hut for 81.

The two had a short 25-run partnership, which culminated in Vastrakar being dismissed for 14 after being bowled by Ranaweera.Jemimah Rodrigues was standing tall all the time, keeping one end steady.India finished their innings at 1386, with Rodrigues (36*) and Deepti Sharma (17*) being the preferred bowlers for Sri Lanka.Inoka Ranaweera took 330 wickets for the country.Athapaththu took one wicket while Oshadi Ranasinghe took two wickets.