On Sunday, Manik Saha will be sworn in as the new Tripura Chief Minister.

Biplab Kumar Deb resigned from his post on Saturday . Biplab Kumar Deb was the incumbent Chief Minister of Tripura .

AGARTALA – After a sudden political breakthrough saw incumbent Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb resign from his post on Saturday, dental surgeon-turned-politician and Tripura BJP President Manik Saha will be sworn in as the state's 12th Chief Minister on Sunday.There are no official announcements from the party that Saha will take the oath alone, or that a new minister will follow him.Saha, 69, who was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Tripura's lone seat on March 31, was elected as the BJP legislative party leader on Saturday, after meeting Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya and staked out to form the government with a letter of support from the party MLAs.Saha, the father of two daughters, will be elected to the state Assembly in the next six months.

Saha joined the BJP in 2015, as a professor at the Tripura Medical College and the B.R.Ambedkar Memorial Teaching Hospital in Agartala, as well as the President of the Tripura Cricket Association.Saha, a close friend of outgoing Chief Minister Deb, became the president of the Tripura BJP Pradesh Committee in 2021.Deb, who returned to Delhi on Saturday after meeting with the central party leaders, including BJP President J.P. Nadda, immediately went to the Raj Bhavan and resigned from his position.

In January-February next year, the 60-member Tripura Assembly will be re-elected.Deb, a former state BJP President, resigned from the Chief Ministers post after resigning from the CMs post, citing the party's interest and the possibility of winning the Assembly elections next year.Regardless of the party's role, I had to express myself honestly and honestly.I will do so if the opposition decides that I will be working for the organisation.

Deb was sworn in as Chief Minister on March 9, 2018, after the BJP-IPFT alliance came to power in the Assembly elections, dissolving the Left Front and ending the latter's 25-year reign.The cabinet extension took place on August 31 last year, with three ministers being appointed, even as the dissident MLAs and party leaders opposed the swearing-in ceremony.Since the BJP-IPFT government took power in 2018, three ministerial seats were vacant, and ex Health and Information Technology Minister Sudip Roy Barman was fired in May 2019, bringing the total number of ministerial seats to four.On a number of occasions, several senior central party leaders visited Tripura to defuse the internal tensions and to correct problems, both in the government and the organisation, amid outrage.

Ashish Das, a BJP MLA who publicly chastised the saffron party and its leadership, including Deb, joined the Trinamool Congress on October 31 last year, after which he was disqualified from the Tripura Assembly.Roy Barman, six other MLAs, and many others resigned from the Congress in 2016 and joined the Trinamool Congress, and the BJP after the 2018 elections.