The current vice presidential election: everything you need to know

Election of Indias 16th Vice President has started . Jagdeep Dhankhar, a BJP veteran from Rajasthan, appears to be the favourite of NDA candidates .

NEW DELHI (New Delhi) — The election of India's 16th Vice President has started.Jagdeep Dhankhar, a BJP veteran from Rajasthan who also served as the governor of West Bengal, appears to be the favourite of NDA candidates.Dhankhar is contesting against Margaret Alva, an opposition candidate who served as Union Minister in a variety of Congress-led governments.M Venkaiah Naidu's term ends on August 10.

The Parliament House will host the vote and count the same day.Here's what you need to hear about the Vice President's election.The Vice President of India's office is the second-highest constitutional post after the president.The Rajya Sabha's ex officio chairman is also the vice president.

To be a vice-president of India, one must be a citizen of India at least 35 years old and cannot hold any position of profit.To be elected to the Rajya Sabha, he also must fulfill all conditions.What is the nascent process?At least 20 people must nominate a candidate and another 20 must second them.

The Electoral College is made up of 788 members (233 elected and 12 nominated members of Rajya Sabha, 543 elected members of Lok Sabha).With 8 seats in the Rajya Sabha, a maximum of 780 votes can be cast this time.Nominated members of Parliament are also allowed to vote to elect the vice president, unlike in a presidential election.However, members of state legislatures are not allowed to vote.

Where is the election and how does it begin?On August 6, the Parliament House will be located in Room No.63, on the 1st floor, between 10am and 5pm.On the same day as counting begins, the count will begin.

1.How is the winner determined?The voters choose the candidates in the competition in a series of proportions.Although the first preference is obligatory for the ballot paper to be valid, other preferences are optional.

If no candidate obtains the necessary number of first-preference votes, the candidate with the fewest first-preference votes is eliminated and his second-preference votes are transfered.The procedure is repeated until a candidate has achieved the required number of votes.So far, India's first vice president, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, took the vow on May 13, 1952.Since then, India has had 12 more vice-presidents.

The most number of vice presidents (5) were elected to office as Congress candidates, followed by the BJP (2).