Vote counting for the vice presidential election has started, and the outcome is expected soon.

The election is between Jagdeep Dhankhar and Margret Alva . The next Vice President will take the oath of office on August 11 .

New Delhi (India), August 6: On Saturday, the counting of votes to name the next vice president of India began.The result is anticipated shortly.The polling began at 10 a.m. on Saturday, and concluded at 5 p.m.It was decided between NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar, a former West Bengal governor, and opposition candidate Margret Alva, a former union minister.

As did the other MPs, Union Ministers Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh, and BJP president JP Nadda all gave their votes.The Vice President is elected by an electoral college made up of members of both Houses of Parliament, according to the single transferable vote system.The voting is done by secret ballot.Dr. Manmohan Singh, 89, arrived in a wheelchair to cast his vote.

The Vice President, who is also Chairman of Rajya Sabha, is not a member of the House.The next Vice President of the country will take the oath of office on August 11, the day after incumbent Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu's term ends.